Irvine Arditti

Irvine Arditti

"To see Arditti in full to be left amazed” – The Telegraph

“A prophet among musicians.” ­– Harrison Birtwistle


World Premiere

The founder and first violinist of the internationally revered Arditti Quartet is also one of the most prodigious soloists of his generation—a supreme virtuoso conveying the full spectrum of contemporary musical expression. Arditti’s dazzling all-acoustic solo program features the world premiere of Pulitzer Prize-winner Roger Reynolds’ imagE/violin & imAge/violin (2015), plus performances of Salvatore Sciarrino’s Six Caprices (1975–76), Pierre Boulez’s Anthèmes I (1991), Toshio Hosokawa’s Spell (2010), and additional works by James Dillon, Hilda Paredes, and the late Emmanuel Nunes. Arditti, a recipient of the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize for lifetime achievement, has given the premieres of landmark large-scale compositions written expressly for him by Xenakis, Ferneyhough, Francesconi, Harvey and Pauset, as well as key solo works by Cage and Ferneyhough.

Associated Images: 

TUE 9/29
8:30 pm
$35  $28$18

G - General Audience

M - REDCAT Members

ST - Students

CA - CalArts Students/Faculty/Staff