Kim Richmond Concert Jazz Orchestra

Kim Richmond Concert Jazz Orchestra

World premieres

An evening of free-swinging improvisation performed by the Grammy-nominated Kim Richmond Concert Jazz Orchestra combines the sounds of large ensemble jazz with symphonic colors and textures. Led by saxophone soloist Kim Richmond, the 24-piece orchestra—featuring expansive instrumentation that includes five woodwinds, four trumpets, three tenor trombones, two French horns, Latin percussion and more—plays from its latest release, Artistry, a tribute to big band leader Stan Kenton and his Neophonic Orchestra, created in 1964 with L.A.’s best jazz and studio musicians. Big, new, Kentonesque jazz and Latin-style compositions pay homage to the size and scope of the master’s kinetic orchestration, rightfully known to music historians as the original “Wall of Sound.”

Kim Richmond Concert Jazz Orchestra features:

Kim Richmond, leader, composer/arranger, alto saxophone
Woodwinds: Alex Budman, Bob Crosby, Glen Berger, Sean Franz, Bob Carr
Trumpets: Bob O'Donnell, Ron King, Steve Huffsteter, Brian Swartz
French horns: John Dickson, Stephanie O'keefe
Trombones: Scott Whitfield, Joey Sellers, George McMullen, Craig Gosnell
Tuba: Bill Roper
Rhythm section: Tom Hynes, guitar; Andy Langham, piano; Trey Henry, bass; Ralph Razze, drums; Dave Johnson, Scott Breadman, percussion

plus Hubert Laws, flute soloist

Associated Images: 

FRI 3/29
8:30 pm

G - General Audience

M - REDCAT Members

ST - Students

CA - CalArts Students/Faculty/Staff