Macbeth

Macbeth

(A Modern Ecstasy)

The Center for New Theater at CalArts presents its first production of the season, a radical re-imagining of Shakespeare’s Macbeth directed by Artistic Director Travis Preston and performed by Stephen Dillane, an actor celebrated for his work on the London and Broadway stages (2000 Tony as Best Actor in Tom Stoppard’s The Real Thing) and in film (The Hours opposite Nicole Kidman).

In this incarnation, the entire performance text of Macbeth becomes a “score” that is played by Dillane while he shares the stage with musicians performing the original compositions of CalArts faculty member Vinny Golia. Dillane becomes a site of transformation as his body and voice are possessed by myriad characters, and the constantly shifting manifestations of Macbeth’s consciousness, accentuating the musical force and incantatory power of Shakespeare’s tragic masterpiece.

Developed at the 2004 Sundance Institute Theater Lab.

Read the press release

Associated Images: 

 

Date/Time G ST CA
Tue 11.23.04, 8:30 pm
(preview)
$24 $16 $10
Wed 11.24.04, 8:30 pm
(preview)
$24$16$10
Fri 11.26.04, 8:30 pm
(preview)
$24$16$10
Sat 11.27.04, 8:30 pm
(preview)
$24$16$10
Sun 11.28.04, 8:30 pm
(preview)
$24$16$10
Tue 11.30.04, 8:30 pm
(preview)
$24$16$10
Wed 12.1.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10
Thu 12.2.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10
Fri 12.3.04, 8:30 pm$40$30$15
Sat 12.4.04, 8:30 pm$40$30$15
Sun 12.5.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10
Tue 12.7.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10
Wed 12.8.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10
Thu 12.9.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10
Fri 12.10.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10
Sat 12.11.04, 8:30 pm$40$30$15
Thu 12.12.04, 8:30 pm$36$20$10

G - General Audience

M - REDCAT Members

ST - Students

CA - CalArts Students/Faculty/Staff