Mills College Center for Contemporary Music at 40

Mills College Center for Contemporary Music at 40 

"An industrious cabal which has served as a fertile nexus for trailblazing research into the live-performance possibilities offered by computers." S.F. Weekly

This program celebrates the enduring legacy of the Center for Contemporary Music at Mills College, the legendary Oakland studio that has played a vital role in shaping the direction of electronic and computer music over the past 40 years. Known for prioritizing music performance over technology research, the center has served as a home for successive generations of electronic music pioneers. The lineup includes John Bischoff’s Edge Transit, for cello, bass, piano, percussion and electronics; David Rosenboom’s Zones of Coherence, for trumpet and live electronics; Chris Brown’s Stupas, for vibraphone, piano and computer; James Fei’s The Nerve Meter, for microphones and frequency-shifted feedback; Maggi Payne’s System Test (fire and ice), for electronic sound and light; and Placeholder, a new work by Mark Trayle. Performers include Daniel Rosenboom, trumpet, and William Winant, percussion.

Associated Images: 

SUN 10/14
8:30 pm

G - General Audience

M - REDCAT Members

ST - Students

CA - CalArts Students/Faculty/Staff