The Music of Mark Trayle

The Music of Mark Trayle

The superbly imaginative, sonically expansive work of composer and sound artist Mark Trayle (1955–2015) is the subject of this tribute by friends, colleagues and former students in The Hub and Bitpanic. Co-founded by Trayle in 1986, The Hub emerged out of the Mills College scene to become the most influential improvising electronic ensemble since Musica Elettronica Viva (MEV). Known for using networked electronic and digital systems of its own devising, the Bay Area group currently consists of John Bischoff, Chris Brown, Tim Perkis, Scot Gresham-Lancaster, Phil Stone and Matt Ingalls. Adding to the computer music lineage pioneered by The Hub is the recently formed collective Bitpanic. Based in Los Angeles, it comprises Casey Anderson, Scott Cazan, Clay Chaplin, David Paha and Stephanie Smith—all one-time students of Trayle at CalArts.

Program Order:


Trayle: Pins and Splits (2005)

Trayle: Paper (2013)

Improvisation (2016)

The Hub:

Trayle: In My Room (2010)

Improvisation (2016)

Trayle: Simple Degradation (1987)


Associated Images: 

SAT 12/3
8:30 pm
$20 $16$10

G - General Audience

M - REDCAT Members

ST - Students

CA - CalArts Students/Faculty/Staff