The Peach Blossom Fan

The Peach Blossom Fan

Directed by Chen Shi-Zheng
Center for NEW THEATER

Director Chen Shi-Zheng’s staging of the opera The Peach Blossom Fan, a classic of Chinese literature originally written by K’jun Shang-jen in 1699, is based on an adaptation by Edward Mast. The historical epic, which relates the last days of the Ming Dynasty through a series of interlocking stories, was further developed by Chen, Mast and Erik Ehn in a series of workshops at the CNT.

Chen has been one of the world’s most sought-after directors following his landmark production of The Peony Pavilion at the 1999 Lincoln Center Festival. Born in Hunan and now living in New York, he has collaborated with artists such as Meredith Monk, Tan Dun and René Jacobs. Chen has directed productions Off-Broadway, at the Public Theater, BAM and the Beijing Opera. Most recently, he directed his own adaptation of the 13th-century play The Orphan of Zhao at Lincoln Center.

Developed with support from the A.S.K./REDCAT Music-Theater Program, funded by The Skirball Foundation


Date/Time G ST CA
Sun 4.11.04 8:30 pm $34 $20 $10
Mon 4.12.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Tue 4.13.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Wed 4.14.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Thur 4.15.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Fri 4.16.04 8:30 pm$36$24$15
Sat 4.17.04 8:30 pm$36$24$15
Sun 4.18.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Tue 4.20.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Wed 4.21.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Thur 4.22.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10
Fri 4.23.04 8:30 pm$38$24$15
Sat 4.24.04 8:30 pm$38$24$15
Sun 4.25.04 8:30 pm$34$20$10

G - General Audience

M - REDCAT Members

ST - Students

CA - CalArts Students/Faculty/Staff